Asset 2Asset 5Asset 6Asset 3Asset 2 1Asset 4

Graduate Student Senate | GSS Platforms | GSS History


The Graduate Student Senate (GSS) is the official representative body for graduate students at Texas Christian University, providing professional and financial support as well as open forums for discussing issues, events, and other matters pertinent to graduate students. There is no membership fee. All graduate students are eligible and welcome to attend GSS events and run for GSS officer positions.

Share your GSS experiences on social media with #TCUGSS.

Contact GSS by emailing the executive board at or by directly emailing a board member.




Fall 2017 Events

GSS General Meetings
Thursday, August 31, 4:00-5:00 pm
Library’s Lizard Lounge
snacks provided

Monday, Oct. 30
4:00-5:00 pm
Library’s Lizard Lounge
RSVP here

GSS Happy Hours*
Thursday, Oct. 12, 5:00-7:00 pm
HG Sply Co
RSVP here

Wednesday, Nov. 8, 5:00-7:00 pm
The Woodshed
RSVP here

*Students are responsible for drinks and/or meals
Locations subject to change
Graduate Student Survival
hosted by the Koehler Center

Wednesday, Sept. 6
4:30-6:30 pm
Koehler Center Lab: TCU Bookstore, Room 208
First come, first reserve
RSVP required
RSVP here

Football Tailgate
co-sponsored with the MBA Program, Neeley School of Business
Saturday, Oct. 7
TCU vs. West Virginia
Details to come on FB and Twitter

Past Events

Graduate Student Appreciation Week Promo Tri-fold (PDF): GSAW_2017_Trifold

Fall 2016 Calendar of Events (PDF): GSS Fall Events 2016


2017-18 Graduate Student Senate Officers

President: Elizabeth Hood,

I am a second year full-time MBA student with a concentration in Marketing. I received my Bachelor’s degree from LSU in French Language and Literature with a minor in International Business. Prior to coming to TCU, I worked on multiple marketing projects for Footlocker Inc., managed a small juice bar in Dallas, and taught English in France for two years. It is an honor to serve as your president and I hope that we can work together to continue the efforts made by previous classes in order to better the experience of graduate students. I pledge to fiercely advocate for changes that address our specific needs and I am committed to increasing student involvement and collaboration among all of the graduate programs. Please, come to one of our meetings and/or events and see what GSS is all about! I look forward to getting to know you in the year ahead.


Vice President for Logistics: Sara Kelm,

I am a second year Ph.D. student in Rhetoric and Composition, with research interests in creative nonfiction, women writers, and composition pedagogy. I have taught at a variety of universities over the past five years, and I look forward to teaching at TCU in the fall. I have previous experience in graduate student leadership at Baylor University (don’t worry; my allegiances have changed!). While at TCU, I have been involved in many GSS events and departmental student groups, including serving as the Techretary for TCU’s chapter of the Rhetoric Society of America. When not doing schoolwork, I enjoy baking, riding my bicycle, and watching British television. I look forward to working for TCU’s graduate student population as the GSS vice-president of logistics.


Vice President for Student Engagement: Whitney James,

I am a second-year Ph.D. in Rhetoric and Composition with research interests in academic writing and genres, translingualism, community literacy, multimodality, and disability studies. I earned a B.A. in comparative literature from the University of California, Santa Barbara and an M.A. in publishing and writing from Emerson College. At Emerson, I served as VP of the Graduate Students for Publishing before becoming a a first-year writing instructor. As VP of Student Engagement, I am honored to represent our small, but vibrant community. TCU has welcomed me with open arms and I look forward further contributing to the graduate student community.


Vice President for Finance: Jon Gulbransen,

My name is Jon Gulbransen and I am a first-year MBA concentrating in Consulting and Finance. I have been active in the MBA program with case competitions, clubs and intramural activities throughout the first year of the program. My goal is to use the experience from my MBA activities and apply it to the broader graduate student population in the next year while building on the foundation of the previous senate representatives. I look forward to the opportunity to represent the graduate students at TCU.


Historian: Annette Wren,

I’m a fourth-year PhD candidate in the English Department with research interests in Victorian literature, literary afterlives, and creative writing. I graduated with B.A.s in English and History at the University of Texas at Austin, and earned my Masters in Literature at Auburn University. As a graduate student at TCU, I have operated as the co-leader for the British Studies Interest Group, served on the English Department’s recruitment committee, and participated as a mentor to incoming graduate students. My goal as Historian is to continue my commitment to giving back to a university that has provided me with numerous opportunities to advance my academic ambitions.


RichardsonKenAdviser: Ken Richardson,
Professor Ken Richardson has taught in the Department of Mathematics at TCU since 1993 and is currently the director of the graduate program in this department. He received his Ph.D. from Rice University in 1993 and does research in differential geometry and global analysis, fields somewhat related to questions in quantum field theory and string theory from physics. He does research with collaborators at TCU and with professors at other universities in the U.S., Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Turkey, and South Korea. Dr. Richardson enjoys teaching undergrads and graduate students in diverse mathematics courses at TCU and has served as the faculty advisor of the Graduate Student Senate since 2010.